|
 |
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 530 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Mar 2007 | 18 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Sep 2011 | Sep 2011 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Galea was going for the ball though and so long as both players are going in the same direction I dont see a problem with it. Brown knocked on and there is no 100% certain that given Galea not diving that Brown would have scored anyway.
Again Hodgson, no way a penalty try. I have seen much more obvious ones not given so for me its a no on this one. Again its not 100% certain he would have scored. At the speed he was going, if Fox had waited until Hodgson had hit the ground then there is a slim possibility he may have been able to push him out or dislodge the ball? Small chance i know but a penalty try has to be 100% certain he would have scored - neither of these were for mine (first one was right call and not even a penalty anyway)
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Club Owner | 8487 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Jan 2005 | 21 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Feb 2020 | Oct 2019 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote El Capitano="El Capitano"Galea was going for the ball though and so long as both players are going in the same direction I dont see a problem with it. Brown knocked on and there is no 100% certain that given Galea not diving that Brown would have scored anyway.
'"
Attempt or not, the fact he went through the man to even gain that opportunity of getting the ball is wrong. Had he tried to come round Brown and swipe at it, fair enough, I could see your point. It's just one of those decisions though and if it had been any of our own sides we'd be saying it's correct decision so no qualms really.
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Club Owner | 7152 | Wigan Warriors |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Jan 2005 | 21 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Dec 2020 | Jun 2020 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Fully="Fully"Just read the rules. The Hodgson one wasn't guaranteed to score, therefore, penalty. There's certainly a case for the offence on Brown to be given as one but very sketchy in my opinion.'"
How did you work that out?
Hodgson caught the ball cleanly and had it in his possession. He was moving towards and would have landed over the tryline. Without Fox's interference, what would have stopped him grounding it? Nothing. No-one. If that's not someone in the act of scoring I don't know what is.
Fox tackled him illegally in the air and pushed him into the flag and out of play.
World Cup Final. Hohaia was not in the act of scoring - he wasn't even in possession of the ball but just chasing it down and was taken out on the goal line, a distance from the ball. Hodgson, on the other hand, had the ball in his hands and was travelling over the goal line to score until taken out illegally.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Club Owner | 8487 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Jan 2005 | 21 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Feb 2020 | Oct 2019 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Cronus="Cronus"How did you work that out?
Hodgson caught the ball cleanly and had it in his possession. He was moving towards and would have landed over the tryline. Without Fox's interference, what would have stopped him grounding it? Nothing. No-one. If that's not someone in the act of scoring I don't know what is.'"
You could argue that Fox could have gave Hodgson space and either secured the ball from being grounded or could have been pushed into touch as soon as his feet touched the ground.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 2912 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
May 2006 | 19 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Apr 2024 | Jan 2020 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Matty_HullFC="Matty_HullFC"Psssttt, I think Mr Morgan said that you can takcle the player in the air.'"
Do you really think that? 
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Club Owner | 7152 | Wigan Warriors |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Jan 2005 | 21 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Dec 2020 | Jun 2020 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Fully="Fully"You could argue that Fox could have gave Hodgson space and either secured the ball from being grounded or could have been pushed into touch as soon as his feet touched the ground.'"
You could argue Hohaia might have tripped. That's not the point. Remove Fox from the equation and Hodgson scores. Simple as that.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Board Member | 14309 | Hull KR |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Sep 2003 | 22 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Apr 2025 | Sep 2024 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Morgan,Brown & Matterson all said they believe you can tackle the attacking player in the air. Thats 3 SL coaches that believe that interpretation of the rule. As Matterson said what are you meant to do let the Attacking player catch the ball and just put the ball down. If you can tackle the ATTACKING player in the air then it was never a penalty and Hull KR should have won.
I'll admit i aint got a clue whether you can or can't. Anybody actually know this 100%
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Board Member | 14309 | Hull KR |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Sep 2003 | 22 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Apr 2025 | Sep 2024 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Cronus="Cronus"You could argue Hohaia might have tripped. That's not the point. Remove Fox from the equation and Hodgson scores. Simple as that.'"
Look closely at Hodgson putting the ball down. He's in touch but that wouldn't have happened hadn't Fox tackled him BUT didn't he fail to ground the ball correctly. That could have happened with or without fox.
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 5035 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Mar 2009 | 16 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Aug 2021 | Oct 2020 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Easty="Easty"Morgan,Brown & Matterson all said they believe you can tackle the attacking player in the air.'"
=#8000FFMatterson is a clueless buffoon, Brown was coaching in the NRL where you COULD tackle the attacking player in the air and Morgan well he was trying to find an excuse. In the NRL you could/can tackle the attacker in the air, in SL you've never been able to.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Club Owner | 7152 | Wigan Warriors |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Jan 2005 | 21 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Dec 2020 | Jun 2020 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Easty="Easty"Morgan,Brown & Matterson all said they believe you can tackle the attacking player in the air. Thats 3 SL coaches that believe that interpretation of the rule. As Matterson said what are you meant to do let the Attacking player catch the ball and just put the ball down. If you can tackle the ATTACKING player in the air then it was never a penalty and Hull KR should have won.
I'll admit i aint got a clue whether you can or can't. Anybody actually know this 100%'"
You definitely CAN'T tackle a player in the air. This has been the rule for donkey's years:
Quote Easty="The RFL Laws of the Game"[size=120Mid-air tackle 1. (b) It is illegal to tackle an opposing player attempting to field a kick whilst the player is in mid-air. The catcher must have returned to the ground before being tackled. (See Section 15.).[/size'"
Section 15 refers to Player Misconduct.
Quote Easty="Easty"Look closely at Hodgson putting the ball down. He's in touch but that wouldn't have happened hadn't Fox tackled him BUT didn't he fail to ground the ball correctly. That could have happened with or without fox.'"
He grounds the ball incorrectly precisely BECAUSE Fox is shoving him into touch; he rushes it in an attempt to ground it before finding touch. The overwhelming odds dictate that without interference, Hodgson would have grounded the ball cleanly. He was travelling over the try line with the ball in his possession. There is NO reason whatsoever to presume otherwise.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Board Member | 14309 | Hull KR |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Sep 2003 | 22 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Apr 2025 | Sep 2024 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Gaslight="Gaslight"=#8000FFMatterson is a clueless buffoon, Brown was coaching in the NRL where you COULD tackle the attacking player in the air and Morgan well he was trying to find an excuse. In the NRL you could/can tackle the attacker in the air, in SL you've never been able to.'"
Should we not all be playing by the same rules especially so we know where we all stand for internationals. Either you can or you can't. Can you imagine football having seperate rules for domestic competitions in different countries, FIFA would go ape.
|
|
|
 |
|