|
 |
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 1923 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Apr 2009 | 16 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Feb 2019 | Jan 2019 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote nohalfbacks="nohalfbacks"But he can't be offside if the ball comes off an opposition player unless the rule is different for a charge down.'"
I think in that instance the ball struck the Saints player rather than was played at so Lockers wasn't played on-side.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Board Member | 14219 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Oct 2003 | 22 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jan 2024 | Mar 2023 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Ande="Ande"It did go both ways though some of Silverwood and Child's decision were incredible.
I think he gave obstruction against Graham for standing still after he had played the ball to Roby and the Richards penalty at the end was also baffling.
I do agree though, there were some complete clangers
(feel free to correct me on any names etc as i havent had time to watch it back yet)'"
Lomax had his hand on the ball just before Richards went to play it, causing Richards to drop it.
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 1923 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Apr 2009 | 16 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Feb 2019 | Jan 2019 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Ande="Ande"It did go both ways though some of Silverwood and Child's decision were incredible.
I think he gave obstruction against Graham for standing still after he had played the ball to Roby and the Richards penalty at the end was also baffling.
I do agree though, there were some complete clangers
(feel free to correct me on any names etc as i havent had time to watch it back yet)'"
It probably did even out overall, but in the first 20 mins they had every single call. It was only our superb defense that kept Silverwood, er I mean Saints, from scoring.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Board Member | 8931 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Oct 2003 | 22 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Oct 2018 | Oct 2018 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Same thing happened yesterday when Danny Orr "charged down" and then ran 50 metres or so.
It was a clear knock-on as he "played at" the ball by virtue of stopping the kick.
Yes, an oxymoron.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Club Owner | 5226 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Feb 2005 | 21 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Mar 2016 | Dec 2015 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| was deffo a charge down...he moved towards the kicker.
and the obstruction during sams "no try" was an obstruction.
i called it before it went to the video ref......i spotted it, and knew it would be chalked off
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Board Member | 5952 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Aug 2003 | 22 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Mar 2018 | May 2014 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Ande="Ande"It did go both ways though some of Silverwood and Child's decision were incredible.
I think he gave obstruction against Graham for standing still after he had played the ball to Roby and the Richards penalty at the end was also baffling.
I do agree though, there were some complete clangers
(feel free to correct me on any names etc as i havent had time to watch it back yet)'"
Not quite right on the Graham one. Graham was not involved in the ptb, but he was in the way. He shouldn't have been there and by getting in the way of the marker (even by standing still) it was a penalty and the right decision.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 1695 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Mar 2006 | 19 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Sep 2011 | Sep 2011 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote TheElectricGlidingWarrior="TheElectricGlidingWarrior"Does anybody know the exact ruling on charge downs, specifically when a player has played at the ball rather than been struck by it. The reason I ask is I'm just re-watching yesterdays game and Roby runs at Sam as he kicks it, turns and jumps, and the ball hits him on the back, yet we had to turn the ball over rather than get an extra set. I always thought that advancing on the kicker in such a way meant you had played at it, even if the ball hits your back.
eta: Strangely enough John Kear says the ref got it "exactly right" and that it was great "kick pressure". Sounds like a bit of an oxymoron.'"
Yes exactly as I saw it. I couldn't believe Kear. I sometimes wonder if some of them ever played the game with the rubbish they come out with. Stevo is another.
Also, if they touch the ball it disallows a drop goal attempt.
We actually got a caning in the penalty stakes on Saturday, especially in the first half.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 1254 | Wigan Warriors |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Oct 2006 | 19 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Aug 2025 | Oct 2024 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote moonlight flit="moonlight flit"Yes exactly as I saw it. I couldn't believe Kear. I sometimes wonder if some of them ever played the game with the rubbish they come out with. Stevo is another.
Also, if they touch the ball it disallows a drop goal attempt.
We actually got a caning in the penalty stakes on Saturday, especially in the first half.'"
Not any more. That has been changed.
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 2106 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Dec 2006 | 19 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Nov 2016 | Nov 2016 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| just watched it again and it certainly looks like a charge down to me. baffling decision
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 1695 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Mar 2006 | 19 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Sep 2011 | Sep 2011 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote proper-shaped-balls="proper-shaped-balls"Not any more. That has been changed.'"
When did they change that rule ?
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Board Member | 857 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Aug 2003 | 22 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Aug 2015 | Jul 2015 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| ....or the one where Pryce and Lockers were contesting the high ball right next to the saints post that Sam put up after the Lomax injury stoppage.
Pryce facing his own line knocks it over his shoulder with his hands (therefore upfield) on to Lockers (therefore a knock on) which then rebounds into touch.
Silverwood asks the video ref for clarification and he gives a saints 20m tap......nothing to do with the video ref being Ganson I suppose  .....just sayin'
Thats like asking Bent...ham to video ref a Wigan Warrington game......oh hang on, wait a minute 
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Star | 48 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Jul 2011 | 14 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
May 2012 | Feb 2012 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| I'd have said it was played at - he ran at the kicker, so if a ball hits you it's because you're putting yourself in front of the ball.
The Sam 'try' was a harsh call. He still had two men in front who should've/could've stopped him scoring and they only complained after he touched it down.
Agree with Finch offside and the ball last bounced off Lockers head for the other one.
Just watching t'other game on I-Player. Great try from Chase. Shame they aren't going.
|
|
|
 |
|