|
 |
Rank | Posts | Team |
Moderator | 39742 | Warrington Wolves |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Mar 2002 | 23 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Aug 2025 | Dec 2024 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
Moderator
|
| =#FF0000Ian bugger off and leave him alone please.
Ron pack in antagonizing the Wigan fans.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 833 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Dec 2009 | 16 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Mar 2013 | Jul 2012 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote foggy="foggy"From the RFL site
When tackled: 2. A player in possession is tackled:
Grounded (a) when he is held by one or more opposing players and the ball or the hand or arm holding the ball comes into contact with the ground.
So how the hell was Tomkins try given last night, and also the try against us that also went to the video ref.'"
Out of interest I take it you screamed for Hodgsons 2nd try not to be given yesterday? 
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 3869 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Jul 2010 | 15 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Aug 2016 | Oct 2012 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Ian Roberts Closet="Ian Roberts Closet"Out of interest I take it you screamed for Hodgsons 2nd try not to be given yesterday?
'"
Fucking hell, you are stupid or a bad troll.
I don't think I should tell you he was over the line, while sam wasn't.
No matter what your opinion on ratboys 'try' you can't, without being laughed at, scratch off Brett's
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Board Member | 486 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Mar 2003 | 22 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
May 2012 | May 2012 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Paul Thexton="Paul Thexton"Question: When is a tacke complete?
Answer: When the match officials say so.
End of discussion I would have thought. The specific incident being highlighted was given as a try after video review, therefore, the tackle was deemed not to be complete.
If people here think they have a better handle on how the rules of the game ought to be interpreted, then I urge you to get qualified as RL officials and start working your way up to officiating at top level Rugby League.'"
I think this all comes down to how the referees all have different ways of interpreting the rules? Yet another reason that Cummins doesn't know what hes doing, IMO if all the referees used the same set of rules, there would be much less of this debate.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 2795 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Jul 2009 | 16 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jan 2022 | Dec 2020 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| to answer the question.
Q.When isw a tackle complete?
A. (by vadge) when you hear the ligaments snap!
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 2795 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Jul 2009 | 16 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jan 2022 | Dec 2020 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Ian Roberts Closet="Ian Roberts Closet"An you missed my point thats exactly what Ron is worthy of! IMO using childish name calling insults [ulacks class to[/u!!'"
*lacks class as well*
an idiot is a measurement of IQ, nothing to do with childishness, your posts alone allow me to jump to that conclusion!
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 833 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Dec 2009 | 16 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Mar 2013 | Jul 2012 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote jdrocket="jdrocket"loving hell, you are stupid or a bad troll.
I don't think I should tell you he was over the line, while sam wasn't.
No matter what your opinion on ratboys 'try' you can't, without being laughed at, scratch off Brett's'"
I never mentioned scratching it off he was a try all day!
But his ball carrying arm hit the floor whilst in the field of play with a tackler on him. He then made a movement to put the ball downonce over the line. Some on here have said that doing that is no try!
Both Sams and Hodgsons for me were tries!
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Star | 21 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Apr 2011 | 14 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Sep 2011 | Sep 2011 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| I guess the question is, since the ball carrying arm had hit the floor, was it purely momentum which took the ball over the line? Technically it could be argued there was a second movement after the ball carrying arm hit the floor in addition to his momentum and his momentum alone would not have carried the ball over the line. Either way, it was awarded and it took some scoring.
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 2233 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Feb 2010 | 16 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Oct 2013 | Oct 2013 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Looked like a try to me.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Star | 21 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Apr 2011 | 14 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Sep 2011 | Sep 2011 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Ian 77 Redux="Ian 77 Redux"Looked like a try to me.'"
Can I be so bold as to ask your reasoning?. Presumably it's either that the ball carrying arm didn't hit the floor or he didn't make an intentional movement after the ball carrying arm had hit the floor?
I think it's hard to argue that it was momentum that resulted in the ball crossing the line since he obviously intentionally reached his arm out to place the ball over the line.
It was a great peice of skill to twist in the tackle to get him self in a position to put the ball over the line but in my opinion the ball carrying arm hit the floor and he therefore is not allowed to intentionally move his arm to promote the ball subsequent to that.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 2233 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Feb 2010 | 16 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Oct 2013 | Oct 2013 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Threepenny 2-penneth="Threepenny 2-penneth"Can I be so bold as to ask your reasoning?. Presumably it's either that the ball carrying arm didn't hit the floor or he didn't make an intentional movement after the ball carrying arm had hit the floor?
I think it's hard to argue that it was momentum that resulted in the ball crossing the line since he obviously intentionally reached his arm out to place the ball over the line.
It was a great peice of skill to twist in the tackle to get him self in a position to put the ball over the line but in my opinion the ball carrying arm hit the floor and he therefore is not allowed to intentionally move his arm to promote the ball subsequent to that.'"
I've not seen it since last Friday but if memory serves I didn't think that the ball carrying arm hit the floor or that, if it did, the tackle wasn't complete.
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Club Owner | 557 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Mar 2004 | 21 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Oct 2012 | Oct 2012 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Cherry.Pie="Cherry.Pie""Sliding tackle 5. If a tackled player, because of his momentum slides along the ground, the tackle is deemed to have been effected where his slide ends. (See Section 6, 3(c).)'"
It's like Cherry Pie never posted this
Have a look at the rules here:[urlhttp://library.thinkquest.org/3369/rugby/rule.htm[/url and read section 11.5.
Until the tackle was complete - i.e. [uhis sliding had stopped[/u and opposition players were holding him - he was within his rights to put the ball over the line.
|
|
|
 |
|