|
 |
Rank | Posts | Team |
Club Owner | 13016 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Oct 2004 | 21 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Nov 2015 | Sep 2012 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Club Coach | 6901 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Nov 2005 | 20 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Sep 2009 | Jan 1970 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
|
Hmm, WOTT doesn't explain his reasoning.
If WOTT is correct, and you can pass the ball forward in your own in goal area, then presumably someone can chuck it, NFL style, from the back of the ingoal area to the try line and have his colleague catch it and run off. I always thought that any sort of handing error by the defending team (forward pass, knock on) within the ingoal area resulted in a drop out.
Looks like I was wrong
[i<sits back and waits for WOTT to explain>[/i
|
|
Hmm, WOTT doesn't explain his reasoning.
If WOTT is correct, and you can pass the ball forward in your own in goal area, then presumably someone can chuck it, NFL style, from the back of the ingoal area to the try line and have his colleague catch it and run off. I always thought that any sort of handing error by the defending team (forward pass, knock on) within the ingoal area resulted in a drop out.
Looks like I was wrong
[i<sits back and waits for WOTT to explain>[/i
|
|
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Club Owner | 13016 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Oct 2004 | 21 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Nov 2015 | Sep 2012 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Ian [77="Ian [77"Hmm, WOTT doesn't explain his reasoning.
If WOTT is correct, and you can pass the ball forward in your own in goal area, then presumably someone can chuck it, NFL style, from the back of the ingoal area to the try line and have his colleague catch it and run off. I always thought that any sort of handing error by the defending team (forward pass, knock on) within the ingoal area resulted in a drop out.
Looks like I was wrong
[i<sits back and waits for WOTT to explain>[/i'"
I did too, but then WOTT spoke, and I listened. Maybe in hindisght, my Nan was correct, I am a pawn shop.*
[size=75*I'll take anything in.[/size
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Board Member | 7606 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Aug 2003 | 22 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jun 2025 | Feb 2025 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| WOTT is getting mixed-up with the old can't be off-side within the in-goal area. This is true and is covered in section 14 of the rules by the inclusion of the specific wording "except when he is in his own in-goal".
Forward pass is covered in Section 10 where it says:
"A player will be penalised if he deliberately kocks-on or passes forward"
No exceptions are given.
WOTT would seem to be confused by the old "in-goal area" not part of the field of play rubbish. See Section 2: Field of Play of the rules that clearly indicates the "in-goal" areas as part of the field of play.
Anybody who doubts the above can consult.pdf
I know its the 2004 version but niether of these rules have changed in recent times.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Board Member | 7606 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Aug 2003 | 22 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jun 2025 | Feb 2025 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
|
Quote Wire On The Telly="Wire On The Telly"Guess what treacle. It's not.'"
I think it is: as posted elsewhere:
Quote Wire On The TellyWOTT is getting mixed-up with the old can't be off-side within the in-goal area. This is true and is covered in section 14 of the rules by the inclusion of the specific wording "except when he is in his own in-goal".
Forward pass is covered in Section 10 where it says:
"A player will be penalised if he deliberately kocks-on or passes forward"
No exceptions are given.
WOTT would seem to be confused by the old "in-goal area" not part of the field of play rubbish. See Section 2: Field of Play of the rules that clearly indicates the "in-goal" areas as part of the field of play.
Anybody who doubts the above can consult: www.widnesrlreferees.btik.com/at ... book_2004_[1.pdf
I know its the 2004 version but niether of these rules have changed in recent times.'"
|
|
Quote Wire On The Telly="Wire On The Telly"Guess what treacle. It's not.'"
I think it is: as posted elsewhere:
Quote Wire On The TellyWOTT is getting mixed-up with the old can't be off-side within the in-goal area. This is true and is covered in section 14 of the rules by the inclusion of the specific wording "except when he is in his own in-goal".
Forward pass is covered in Section 10 where it says:
"A player will be penalised if he deliberately kocks-on or passes forward"
No exceptions are given.
WOTT would seem to be confused by the old "in-goal area" not part of the field of play rubbish. See Section 2: Field of Play of the rules that clearly indicates the "in-goal" areas as part of the field of play.
Anybody who doubts the above can consult: www.widnesrlreferees.btik.com/at ... book_2004_[1.pdf
I know its the 2004 version but niether of these rules have changed in recent times.'"
|
|
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Chairman | 13723 | Oldham |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Feb 2002 | 23 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Aug 2023 | Apr 2016 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| I agree with Mr Youane. I have also examined my copy of the rules and can only find an exception to offside in your own in-goal - but NO exception to the forward pass. I believe the correct decision had a Bradford player caught Sheriffe's pass to be a Warrington penalty 10m in field opposite the point where the pass was made.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Chairman | 13723 | Oldham |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Feb 2002 | 23 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Aug 2023 | Apr 2016 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| This is de-railing the Westerman thread, I'm going to move the discussion back to the Sheriffe one.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Chairman | 13723 | Oldham |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Feb 2002 | 23 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Aug 2023 | Apr 2016 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Tony Catsmith="Tony Catsmith"This deserves a thread of its own,
ricki sheriffe, a real "WTF????" moment, i've no idea what he was hoping to achieve by keeping the ball in but propelling it forward. Nothing good could have come of it.'"
I can only assume he started off thinking, I'll keep the ball in and then collect it myself, he perhaps didn't realise how unlikely this was going to be to achieve.
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 10645 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Sep 2006 | 19 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Nov 2013 | Oct 2013 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| mmm, Im not home at the moment, i will have to have a look at t'book to see my understanding of it. If i am wrong, then yeah, apologies for my mistake. Was something i remember about on the day being spoke about but couldn't tell you at minute
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 20628 | Oldham |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Mar 2009 | 16 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Aug 2016 | Aug 2016 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| i thought the rule is that you can pass it forward but only still within the in goal area
ie player on the deadball line passes to another player on the ingoal side of the try line but can't pass it forward beyond the try line.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Board Member | 7606 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Aug 2003 | 22 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jun 2025 | Feb 2025 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Wire_Yed_79="Wire_Yed_79"i thought the rule is that you can pass it forward but only still within the in goal area
ie player on the deadball line passes to another player on the ingoal side of the try line but can't pass it forward beyond the try line.'"
I thought Paul Cullen was the coach to bring success to Warrington.
Sometimes we all have to admit to ourselves we are wrong.
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Club Coach | 6901 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Nov 2005 | 20 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Sep 2009 | Jan 1970 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Wire On The Telly="Wire On The Telly"mmm, Im not home at the moment, i will have to have a look at t'book to see my understanding of it. If i am wrong, then yeah, apologies for my mistake. Was something i remember about on the day being spoke about but couldn't tell you at minute'"
Fair play to you WOTT - no need to apologise for making a mistake. Maybe worth apologising for being smug but not for making a mistake.
|
|
|
 |
|