|
 |
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 387 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Sep 2010 | 15 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Aug 2020 | Jan 2020 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Dally="Dally"If he thought the ball was always wide when the players thought it was in - isn't he experienced enough to have thought - I'm tired and so may have perceived it wrongly? I ought to go to the VR in such an important situation? If not, why not? As to the video evidence being inconclusive .... they're having a giraffe.'"
Or...... He might have thought "that little turd has been in my ear all bl**dy game, so why should i start listening to him now"
Just a thought 
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Star | 3852 | St. Helens |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Jun 2011 | 14 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Aug 2025 | Jan 2025 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
|
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 673 | St. Helens |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Jan 2007 | 19 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Dec 2023 | Dec 2023 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Why did bentham not consult a psychatrist to confirm that he was mentaly capable of making a decision
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Chairman | 14845 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Dec 2001 | 24 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Oct 2021 | Jul 2021 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote redex113="redex113"Why did bentham not consult a psychatrist to confirm that he was mentaly capable of making a decision'"
Cos his spelling is well-good?
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Club Owner | 7152 | Wigan Warriors |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Jan 2005 | 21 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Dec 2020 | Jun 2020 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote The_smiling_ref="The_smiling_ref"Quote from today's Yorkshire Post [urlwww.yorkshirepost.co.uk/sport/rugby-league/huddersfield/drop-goal-referee-bentham-says-video-call-would-not-have-spared-huddersfield-1-6547688[url
Asked why he did not make use of the replays, he said: “I was in the right position to make the call so got a good view of the kick and it always stays left of the post. To be honest, it didn’t occur to me to go to the video referee as I’d made the decision.
“We’ve reviewed it (Monday) and the video referee says – with the two different camera angles available – it was inconclusive so, even if I’d asked him, he’d have had to come back to me to make the call anyway.
So after reading that statement what process has he failed in? He has stated it always stays left of the post, so why would he then go to the video ref? if you think we should go to the video ref for everything then you might as well watch a game that lasts 3 hours. Phil has done nothing wrong in this incident.'"
That's the thing. So many people seem unable to to even consider that perhap - just perhaps - Bentham was in the perfect position to view the ball [i as it passed the post[/i and was therefore able to make the call without the video ref. You know, stood pretty much in perfect line with the trajectory of the ball and the post as he was.
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Club Owner | 8487 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Jan 2005 | 21 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Feb 2020 | Oct 2019 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| FA
You are wrong (entirely IMO - your opinion is your opinion) and here's why. The ball does slow/swerve/alter it's route - whichever term you like - and I've drawn it on to prove it.
I have watched back the clip behind Brough in slow motion and plotted points as to where the ball is at any point.
I've then drawn these on with a big X and edited the lines to go perfectly in the middle of all those X's - look what happens.
I've then drawn a big red line for what would happen to the ball in a perfect line in line with the window and also your point, as you suggest, if it didn't change its course. The ball would go over if that was the case but it would also go over the steps in the upper tier and down to the right of where it hits the window in the doorway of the hospitality.
Then watch the video from the main footage of the game. The ball crosses the posts at a point when the ball is out of sight in the upper tier. I'd suggest slightly below the second upper most X, which is over the left of the post, as pointed out by my other image.

|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Chairman | 5392 | Wakefield Trinity |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Dec 2001 | 24 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jan 1970 | Jun 2022 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| as if Bentham or any other ref is going to own up and say yeah, I made a right fecking mess of that and cost a team the game because I didn't bother checking with the VR (whom is also not in a month of Sundays go with yes I would have given it!)
This is a club (RFL) that is corrupt/incompetent from the top down. To think Bentham is going to change his mind now on such a contentious issue is bonkers, he won't and he hasn't, pretty predictable really.
The actuality is that it was a clear DG, the result as stands is that it wasn't...
Those saying it didn't go over from one angle is like saying that a try isn't a try from one inconclusive angle, hence why the VR choses another much clearer one to decide. Going by the behind the posts shot it is clear and always has been clear it was a successful kick..
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Club Owner | 8487 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Jan 2005 | 21 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Feb 2020 | Oct 2019 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote knockersbumpMKII="knockersbumpMKII"Going by the behind the posts shot it is clear and always has been clear it was a successful kick..'"
No..no, it really isn't. The angle proves nothing.
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Chairman | 14986 | Huddersfield Giants |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Aug 2002 | 23 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Feb 2018 | Feb 2018 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| All those who are saying it wasn't a goal would soon change your minds if it was your team it happened to !!
it was a drop goal, simple as, to physics and trajectories, it wont over the bar and inside the post !!
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Chairman | 28357 | Bradford Bulls |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Feb 2002 | 24 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
May 2024 | Oct 2019 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Fully="Fully"FA
You are wrong (entirely IMO - your opinion is your opinion) and here's why. The ball does slow/swerve/alter it's route - whichever term you like - and I've drawn it on to prove it.
I have watched back the clip behind Brough in slow motion and plotted points as to where the ball is at any point.
I've then drawn these on with a big X and edited the lines to go perfectly in the middle of all those X's - look what happens.
I've then drawn a big red line for what would happen to the ball in a perfect line in line with the window and also your point, as you suggest, if it didn't change its course. The ball would go over if that was the case but it would also go over the steps in the upper tier and down to the right of where it hits the window in the doorway of the hospitality.
Then watch the video from the main footage of the game. The ball crosses the posts at a point when the ball is out of sight in the upper tier. I'd suggest slightly below the second upper most X, which is over the left of the post, as pointed out by my other image.
'"
It is good you have taken the time to prepare evidence, but I think your plots must be wrong simply because we all know that a ball in flight could not weave about like your yellow line, nor, so far as we can see watching the video in real time, is there any weaving, zigging or zagging apparent.
Also the ball is actually on the image, immediately after it left brough's foot, and sadly your yellow line does not go through the known location of the ball, which isn't open to debate.
Your red line is also wrong as you have assumed the ball travelled till it landed in the seats, but it didn't, its first point of contact was the glass under the sign, which is where your red arc needs therefore to end.
If you can post your stills from which you think you have plotted the crosses then tonight I will make them into a composite as a check on your theory.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 5217 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Aug 2006 | 19 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Mar 2025 | Sep 2024 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote knockersbumpMKII="knockersbumpMKII" To think Bentham is going to change his mind now on such a contentious issue is bonkers, he won't and he hasn't, pretty predictable really.
The actuality is that it was a clear DG, the result as stands is that it wasn't...
'"
Why has anyone else on here changed their minds? Why should a ref change his mind because a few people on here are convinced in a conspiracy, and like to blow up every minor (and major) issue in the game? I didn't think it went over (due to the camera angle from behind the saints fans) - and I'm yet to see anything convincing enough to suggest otherwise. Unless someone a) posts specific dimensions between the player, posts, and ingoal, or b) the bbc release the footage with a side camera angle (to determine precisely when the ball crosses the try line) there is absolutely nothing clear cut about it being a drop goal, and bearing in mind the rules about the whole ball having to go over the crossbar not the post, on balance of probability the correct decision was made.
The ref called what he saw (and regardless of what you or anyone else says, HE had the best view of it) - the VR has come out and said if it had been referee upstairs, the on field decision would of stood, and at least half the population agree (including the rfl, because he hasn't been quietly dropped for this week as is usual when a ref makes a major bad call) agree with that decision. Just because it doesn't sit well with you doesn't mean it was wrong.
At that point in the game, the game wasn't lost - in fact it was 16-16. What lost Huddersfield the game was letting saints go from a 20 metre tap to 30metres from goal
|
|
|
|
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jun 2020 | Feb 2018 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Cronus="Cronus"That's the thing. So many people seem unable to to even consider that perhap - just perhaps - Bentham was in the perfect position to view the ball [ias it passed the post[/i and was therefore able to make the call without the video ref. You know, stood pretty much in perfect line with the trajectory of the ball and the post as he was.'"
Perhaps he wasnt in this magical spot and the video evidence which contradicts him is better evidence.
|
|
|
 |
|