Quote Mr Carl="Mr Carl"What an absolutely awful rule. If you slip and land on the floor with your ball-carrying arm, you concede a drop-out.
To what extent do we take it? If the ball is sitting on the ground in your in-goal area, and you pick it up, for a fraction of a second the ball is simultaneously in contact with the ground and your ball carrying hand. Should that then lead to a drop-out? '"
First things first, picking up the ball does not constitute grounding it:
[iPicking up in in-goal[/i 3. (a) [i
=#FF0000Picking up the ball is not grounding it and a player may pick up the ball in his opponents’ in-goal in order to ground it in a more advantageous position.[/i
A sensible interpretation of this suggests that the same applies to players picking up the ball in their own in-goal area.
Quote Mr CarlWill we see players dribbling the ball out of their in-goal area with their feet, afraid that by picking it up they will concede a drop-out?'"
No, for the reason stated above.
Quote Mr CarlIt's madness I tells you, madness!'"
No it's not.
I really like the rule; it's consistent. If an attacking player grounds the ball they immediately kill it, so why shouldn't it be the same with a defending player? It also ties in nicely with the 'simultaneous grounding' law which allows tries to be scored when both and attacking and a defending player ground the ball at the same time. I don't think scrapping the current in-goal laws would sit right with that.
OK, so some players slip/fall over and inadvertently ground the ball. Big deal, some players accidentally put a foot in touch, or on the dead-ball line. Get over it. In fact I've seen the odd player utilise this rule to kill the ball and save them running into a brick wall kick-chase.