|
 |
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Board Member | 183 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Apr 2003 | 22 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
May 2016 | May 2016 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| And yet when Wire beat us in the last league game, when Atkins stole the ball from Westerman for the first try,he was driving him back for what seemed an eternity and held was never called by Ganson ( right decision as well imo)
And yet Thaler couldn't wait to shout held when the player was moving, ridiculous call on top of the blatant knock on just prior to that right in front of the touch judge.
Don't get me wrong, in no way am I making excuses, we got beaten by the better team plain and simple.Thought Thaler was poor, even if he had a blinder we still would have been comfortably beaten. You just despair sometimes at some of the blatant inconsistencies and schoolboy errors being made by officials.
Keep it simple, if the player is moving then refs should keep it shut, not be too quick in shouting held which we seem to be seeing more of.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Chairman | 14970 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Jun 2002 | 23 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Nov 2021 | Nov 2021 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| If you keep it that simple then you end up with a rugby union maul. There has to be a held call at some point. That point is generally taken as being when a second attacker lends weight to attempt to stop his teammate being pushed back.
I think to the exact letter of the law Thaler was correct however a penalty seems a very harsh outcome for something like that. I'd be happy with simply the ref calling held and then the play the ball being taken at the point where the attacker was when the ref called held. That way if the defenders don't hear they aren't unduly punished.
As for the Atkins one, I'm unsure as to the ruling when there is only 1 defender. For me it was the right call. If another Wire player had been involved then it should have been called held.
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Chairman | 6899 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Dec 2001 | 24 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jul 2025 | Feb 2025 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote SmokeyTA="SmokeyTA"I thought his feet had left the ground which results in a call of held. We dont judge it on time.'"
That's exactly what he called held for - feet off the ground is instantly held. Personally I would have said play on but his call was grounded in the rules as he saw it.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 11973 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Apr 2010 | 15 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jul 2025 | Feb 2025 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote WireFanatic III="WireFanatic III"Ganson biased towards Warrington?
'"
Yes, he was truly one sided
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Chairman | 20315 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Aug 2002 | 23 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jan 2022 | Jan 2022 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote MjM="MjM"That's exactly what he called held for - feet off the ground is instantly held. Personally I would have said play on but his call was grounded in the rules as he saw it.'"
I'm fairly sure Lauititi joined the tackle, so Thaler had no option other than to call held. Correct decision.
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Chairman | 17230 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Oct 2002 | 23 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Apr 2025 | Nov 2020 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Dave Lister="Dave Lister"I'm fairly sure Lauititi joined the tackle, so Thaler had no option other than to call held. Correct decision.'"
That's exactly what it was. What is wrong with people and their one eyed jelous bias.
The rules are quite clear and are adopted exactly the same with every ref at every game. The "gang" tackle on Moa as it was put, was Leeds playes pushing Moa back in the tackle in the field of playe, without an Hull team mate involved. Momentum did not stop until the ref shouted held.
The tackle of the Leeds player into touch, was momentum from a Hull "gang" tackle, but has soon as Lauititi lended weight to the tackle then the ref has to call held, which he duely did. The fact that Hull players continued to push back and into touch was their problem.
There is an argument like others have pointed out, where when the refs call is not heard that we go back to where the ref shouted held, rather than a pen. But that would require a change to the rules. As it stands Thaler was spot on in both incidents.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Star | 7609 | Wigan Warriors |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
May 2011 | 14 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Feb 2025 | Feb 2025 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| It happened against Hull last week though to be fair. Atkins was pushing Westerman back, another Hull player joined in, tackle should've been called held but he stole the ball and ran off...
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 9695 | Warrington Wolves |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Jul 2009 | 16 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jul 2025 | Feb 2025 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Wigg'n="Wigg'n"It happened against Hull last week though to be fair. Atkins was pushing Westerman back, another Hull player joined in, tackle should've been called held but he stole the ball and ran off...'"
serves him right for not jumping on the floor to avoid being tackled like a coward then doesn't it.
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Star | 7609 | Wigan Warriors |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
May 2011 | 14 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Feb 2025 | Feb 2025 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote morleys_deckchair="morleys_deckchair"serves him right for not jumping on the floor to avoid being tackled like a coward then doesn't it.'"
lol
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Moderator | 36786 | Hull FC |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Jul 2003 | 22 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jan 2025 | May 2023 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
Moderator
|
| Quote Gotcha="Gotcha"The rules are quite clear and =#0040FFare adopted exactly the same with every ref at every game.'"
Sadly 100% untrue.
Quote Gotcha="Gotcha"The "gang" tackle on Moa as it was put, was Leeds playes pushing Moa back in the tackle in the field of playe, without an Hull team mate involved. Momentum did not stop until the ref shouted held.
The tackle of the Leeds player into touch, was momentum from a Hull "gang" tackle, but has soon as Lauititi lended weight to the tackle then the ref has to call held, which he duely did. The fact that Hull players continued to push back and into touch was their problem.'"
This is indeed the correct application of the 'lending weight' rule. I think people are confused because you so rarely see it enforced - one case in point being just last week during Hull vs Wire.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Chairman | 6899 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Dec 2001 | 24 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jul 2025 | Feb 2025 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Gotcha="Gotcha"The tackle of the Leeds player into touch, was momentum from a Hull "gang" tackle, but has soon as Lauititi lended weight to the tackle then the ref has to call held, which he duely did. The fact that Hull players continued to push back and into touch was their problem.
There is an argument like others have pointed out, where when the refs call is not heard that we go back to where the ref shouted held, rather than a pen. But that would require a change to the rules. As it stands Thaler was spot on in both incidents.'" But he didn't give it for lending weight, he gave it for the Leeds player's feet leaving the ground at which point it is automatically a held call. Not convinved that was the case personally.
|
|
|
 |
|