|
 |
Rank | Posts | Team |
Club Coach | 55 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Mar 2005 | 20 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jan 2020 | Feb 2012 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| The annoying thing about this is that its understandable for people on here not to understand the Laws but when you get the likes of Paul Cullen on Boots N All last night, highlighting it as a Hull error, then theres not much hope.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Club Owner | 5308 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Mar 2004 | 21 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Oct 2012 | Jul 2012 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote R&C="R&C"Reading thru this thread you're spot on.
I'm a Saints fan but it was a wrong call from the TJ/Referee and proved costly for Hull. Saints scored from the scrum.
Imagine Whiting caught the ball 5 metres over the touchline. There wouldn't even be a debate about it as everyone would know he was in touch when he caught the ball.
Standing on the white line is exactly the same as the line is deemed touch. Should have been head and feed to Hull.'"
That rule only applies on the full. Meli's kick bounced.
And as for Ganson obstructing O'Meley....seems the prop was rather quick out of the scrum, considering props are pretty binded in there.
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Club Coach | 55 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Mar 2005 | 20 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jan 2020 | Feb 2012 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote MSH="MSH"That rule only applies on the full. Meli's kick bounced.
And as for Ganson obstructing O'Meley....seems the prop was rather quick out of the scrum, considering props are pretty binded in there.'"
As I was saying -its understandable people here not knowing the Laws, but full time professional coaches/managers?
Whether he caught it on the full or not makes no difference.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 1923 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Apr 2009 | 16 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Feb 2019 | Jan 2019 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote MSH="MSH"That rule only applies on the full. Meli's kick bounced.'"
So a player kicks the ball towards touch; it bounces before leaving the field of play, whereon a player, stood in touch over near the boards, catches it. What's the call?
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 6668 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Sep 2010 | 15 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Sep 2023 | Jun 2023 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| I've just spent too long looking for the rules regarding the Whiting decision. The call by the touch judge and Ganson WAS CORRECT. I wasn't sure myself at first which is why I looked.
If the player catches the ball in touch after the ball has already bounced in the field of play then the head and feed goes to the kicking team.
However, If the ball does not bounce in the field of play and is caught in touch then the head and feed will go to the receiving team.
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Club Owner | 5308 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Mar 2004 | 21 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Oct 2012 | Jul 2012 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote TheElectricGlidingWarrior="TheElectricGlidingWarrior"So a player kicks the ball towards touch; it bounces before leaving the field of play, whereon a player, stood in touch over near the boards, catches it. What's the call?'"
Then its just kicked out and the other team get it via a scrum where it exited the field of play. Said player has no bearing.
Watch a 40/20 attempt, one the FB/winger is near to. They attempt to bat the ball back in play, or grab it, before it crosses the line, being careful to avoid stepping on the line while touching the ball. Whats being suggested on here is that he can step out, then just grab the ball, that nullifies any 40/20 and his team get the ball.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Club Coach | 55 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Mar 2005 | 20 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jan 2020 | Feb 2012 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote BackrowSaint="BackrowSaint"I've just spent too long looking for the rules regarding the Whiting decision. The call by the touch judge and Ganson WAS CORRECT. I wasn't sure myself at first which is why I looked.
If the player catches the ball in touch after the ball has already bounced in the field of play then the head and feed goes to the kicking team.
However, If the ball does not bounce in the field of play and is caught in touch then the head and feed will go to the receiving team.'"
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 1923 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Apr 2009 | 16 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Feb 2019 | Jan 2019 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote MSH="MSH"Then its just kicked out and the other team get it via a scrum where it exited the field of play. Said player has no bearing.'"
So what's the difference between being stood in touch (my example) and stood on the touch line (Whiting)?
Quote MSHWatch a 40/20 attempt, one the FB/winger is near to. They attempt to bat the ball back in play, or grab it, before it crosses the line, being careful to avoid stepping on the line while touching the ball. Whats being suggested on here is that he can step out, then just grab the ball, that nullifies any 40/20 and his team get the ball.'"
I don't see how that is being suggested. It wouldn't nullify the 40-20.
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 6668 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Sep 2010 | 15 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Sep 2023 | Jun 2023 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote TheElectricGlidingWarrior="TheElectricGlidingWarrior"So what's the difference between being stood in touch (my example) and stood on the touch line (Whiting)?'"
No difference, the rule I posted above applies.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Club Coach | 55 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Mar 2005 | 20 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jan 2020 | Feb 2012 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote BackrowSaint="BackrowSaint"I've just spent too long looking for the rules regarding the Whiting decision. The call by the touch judge and Ganson WAS CORRECT. I wasn't sure myself at first which is why I looked.
If the player catches the ball in touch after the ball has already bounced in the field of play then the head and feed goes to the kicking team.
However, If the ball does not bounce in the field of play and is caught in touch then the head and feed will go to the receiving team.'"
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 6668 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Sep 2010 | 15 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Sep 2023 | Jun 2023 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| R&C, is there any particular reason you keep quoting my post with no reply. 
|
|
|
 |
|