|
 |
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Chairman | 17230 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Oct 2002 | 23 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Apr 2025 | Nov 2020 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote tvoc="tvoc"They all got the decision wrong IMO.
It appeared to be a 'No Try' as far as I could tell from the footage available via the Super League Show coverage. That deals with the in goal judge and the referee but for me the touch judge also made the wrong call in indicating a re-start on the twenty as Smith appeared the last player to touch the ball in the field of play.'"
I may well be wrong here, but at the game I was sure that the touch judge signalled for a drop out, not a twenty restart. And could not understand why the Huddersfield players were going to line up for the twenty restart. Then totally confused when he gave the try.
Isn't the signal for drop out where he points his flag on the try line?
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Board Member | 22289 | Leeds Rhinos |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Mar 2003 | 22 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Sep 2024 | Aug 2018 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Inflatable_Armadillo="Inflatable_Armadillo"However, my point is about the laws and the technicality of the decision making process, the touch judge has the call on this one for me, not Mr Thaler or the in-goal judge, and Mr Thaler should know that as a first grade ref!'"
On the assumption that the referee was presented with a split decision who should he side with officially?
I note that the role and jurisdiction of the in goal judge is not defined in your reference material.
For me I'd say the touch judge should be responsible for any touchline decisions, including touch in-goal leaving the in goal judge as arbiter on dead-ball line decisions.
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 4259 | Rochdale Hornets |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
May 2007 | 18 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jan 2020 | Feb 2019 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote tvoc="tvoc"On the assumption that the referee was presented with a split decision who should he side with officially?
I note that the role and jurisdiction of the in goal judge is not defined in your reference material.
For me I'd say the touch judge should be responsible for any touchline decisions, including touch in-goal leaving the in goal judge as arbiter on dead-ball line decisions.'"
My interpretation of the rules, as written, is that it is the touch judge (not the ref) is the final arbiter in the circumstance of ANY call relating to touch or touch in-goal. So strictly speaking, if the touch judge disagrees with the ref on a touch or touch in-goal decision the ref should actually concede to the touch judge in this circumstance only.
So, given that currently in-goal judges don't appear to have any formal status in the rules in this area, then yes, he should have gone with the touch judge and not the touch in-goal judge! However, I bet if you ask him now he will say both he and the in-goal judge thought it was a try and therefore it was 2 against 1... even though the rules don't back him up there either!
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Club Owner | 15864 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Oct 2004 | 21 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jul 2024 | Oct 2023 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Inflatable_Armadillo="Inflatable_Armadillo"My interpretation of the rules, as written, is that it is the touch judge (not the ref) is the final arbiter in the circumstance of ANY call relating to touch or touch in-goal. So strictly speaking, if the touch judge disagrees with the ref on a touch or touch in-goal decision the ref should actually concede to the touch judge in this circumstance only.
So, given that currently in-goal judges don't appear to have any formal status in the rules in this area, then yes, he should have gone with the touch judge and not the touch in-goal judge! However, I bet if you ask him now he will say both he and the in-goal judge thought it was a try and therefore it was 2 against 1... even though the rules don't back him up there either!'"
I'm not sure you're right here. The final call is always the refs, except for conversions, when 2 touch judges overrule the ref.
No idea about the in-goal judges, my course didnt cover them
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Club Owner | 15864 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Oct 2004 | 21 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jul 2024 | Oct 2023 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Gotcha="Gotcha"I may well be wrong here, but at the game I was sure that the touch judge signalled for a drop out, not a twenty restart. And could not understand why the Huddersfield players were going to line up for the twenty restart. Then totally confused when he gave the try.
Isn't the signal for drop out where he points his flag on the try line?'"
Flag down for both, but arm up, and pointing to the 20m for tap 20, and arm down pointing between the sticks for a dropout
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 4259 | Rochdale Hornets |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
May 2007 | 18 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jan 2020 | Feb 2019 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote leicester_rhino="leicester_rhino"I'm not sure you're right here. The final call is always the refs, except for conversions, when 2 touch judges overrule the ref.
No idea about the in-goal judges, my course didnt cover them'"
Err, no it's not, read the laws!
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Club Owner | 15864 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Oct 2004 | 21 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jul 2024 | Oct 2023 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Inflatable_Armadillo="Inflatable_Armadillo"Err, no it's not, read the laws!'"
i haven't received mine in the post yet, but I will do.
The final decision is the refs, as the touch judges are only supposed to indicate something if the ref asks. In reality it doesn't work like that though, and the ref should take the TJs view as he is best placed to give that decision.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Chairman | 17230 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Oct 2002 | 23 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Apr 2025 | Nov 2020 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote leicester_rhino="leicester_rhino"Flag down for both, but arm up, and pointing to the 20m for tap 20, and arm down pointing between the sticks for a dropout'"
Well I am pretty sure he didn't point ot the 20, and pointed between the sticks instead, but I am not sure he had his arm up, if that makes a difference.
Either way, he was incorrectly over ruled. And of more point to any debate of who's call it is, the touch judge definately had the best view of all the officials.
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Chairman | 6899 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Dec 2001 | 24 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Aug 2025 | Feb 2025 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| According to Thaler:
He had definitely seen it grounded but wasn't sure where.
The touchie said the Midget player didn't ground it at all - in Thaler's opinion [isince he 'knew' this not to be the case [/ithe evidence of the touch judge was therefore unreliable and had to be disregarded .
Therefore: he fell back to the in goal judge who agreed with him that it had been grounded and said it was a try.
There is a certain logic to that - except the in goal judge turned out to be wrong.
C'est la vie, it just made Leeds have to earn the win a little more, which is a good thing in these times of plodding through regular seasons without really trying
Now let there be no more slagging off of our pet referee 
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 4259 | Rochdale Hornets |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
May 2007 | 18 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jan 2020 | Feb 2019 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote Inflatable_Armadillo="Inflatable_Armadillo"The Referees shall enforce the Laws of the Game and may impose penalties for any deliberate breach of the Laws. He shall be the sole judge on matters of fact =#FF0000except those relating to touch and touch in-goal (see para. 11 below).
[iAccept Touch Judge decision - 10. The Referee =#FF0000shall accept the decision of an official Touch Judge relating to touch and touch in-goal play and to kicks at goal.[/i'"
This, and as you correctly mention kicks at goal, is the only time he does not have final decision!!!
Now, if you are arguing that Thaler gave the try as he, as the ref, clearly felt he grounded the ball and therefore it was not actual a touch in-goal call then I agree... but his touch judge also disagreed with that!!!
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 4259 | Rochdale Hornets |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
May 2007 | 18 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jan 2020 | Feb 2019 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote MjM="MjM"According to Thaler:
He had definitely seen it grounded but wasn't sure where.
The touchie said the Midget player didn't ground it at all - in Thaler's opinion [isince he 'knew' this not to be the case [/ithe evidence of the touch judge was therefore unreliable and had to be disregarded .
Therefore: he fell back to the in goal judge who agreed with him that it had been grounded and said it was a try.
There is a certain logic to that - except the in goal judge turned out to be wrong.
C'est la vie, it just made Leeds have to earn the win a little more, which is a good thing in these times of plodding through regular seasons without really trying

Now let there be no more slagging off of our pet referee
'"
If that is indeed from the 'horses mouth' then surprise, surprise... I told you that is what he would say!
He does know the rules and on reflection he knows he has no choice but to say that, even then he is still on dodgy ground overruling his touch judge in strict accordance with the laws.
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Chairman | 5442 | Leeds Rhinos |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Feb 2002 | 24 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jun 2024 | May 2024 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Mr Armadillo, you are missing someting,you are right that the TJ rules if the ball has gone out of play and he waved his flag to indicate that
the issue was if the ball was grounded before that, the referee rules on tries and did so as he had the opinion it had been grounded before that (probably with the help of the ingoal judge - i think the term in goal shows what he is there for and what he is there to assist/rule on)
it is common for a TJ to raise the flag to indicate the ball or player are in touch but a preceding incident in the field of play mean the referee awards a decision based on that, its not overruling the TJ in those incidents or this one
|
|
|
 |
|