|
 |
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Star | 12 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Mar 2011 | 14 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Sep 2017 | Sep 2015 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| I thought it was a try all day long.
How's McShane going for you this season, i really enjoyed watch him at Widnes last season?
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Star | 4239 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Mar 2013 | 12 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jul 2024 | Jun 2024 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| No doubt in the coming weeks someone will have a very similiar try given, by ganson, probably wigan.
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Chairman | 32374 | Wigan Warriors |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Oct 2002 | 23 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jun 2025 | Feb 2025 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| It was disallowed for boring (Aussie term) There was one disallowed over the weekend in Australia (I think it was Brisbane) for exactly the same offence. Basically it's the dummy half using the player who has just played the ball as a shield, and he is not allowed to make contact with that player.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Chairman | 14522 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Feb 2002 | 23 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jan 2014 | Jan 2014 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
|
Obstruction?
If that's the official reason, it's wrong.
Extract from the rules (here -> www.therfl.co.uk/the-rfl/rules/o ... /6_scoring), specifically says ...
" =#4000FFBoring through forwards - A player may pick up the ball at the base of the scrum and bore
through his own forwards to ground the ball for a try"
That, to me, is the same as "boring" through one forward at the PTB.
Frankly, I'm getting truly p'ed off by some of the decisions on obstruction this season, which appear to be based on their "interpretation" of the rules, when there is little or no interpretation required.
|
|
Obstruction?
If that's the official reason, it's wrong.
Extract from the rules (here -> www.therfl.co.uk/the-rfl/rules/o ... /6_scoring), specifically says ...
" =#4000FFBoring through forwards - A player may pick up the ball at the base of the scrum and bore
through his own forwards to ground the ball for a try"
That, to me, is the same as "boring" through one forward at the PTB.
Frankly, I'm getting truly p'ed off by some of the decisions on obstruction this season, which appear to be based on their "interpretation" of the rules, when there is little or no interpretation required.
|
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Chairman | 32302 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Feb 2002 | 23 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Nov 2018 | Oct 2016 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| It's as if they're desperately looking for reasons not to give a try.
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Chairman | 14522 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Feb 2002 | 23 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jan 2014 | Jan 2014 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote FlexWheeler="FlexWheeler"No doubt in the coming weeks someone will have a very similiar try given, by ganson, probably wigan.'"
Quite.
Wigan have been the beneficiaries of one try disallowed against them in one match and one try allowed for them in another match this season ... but where the "obstruction" was virtually identical.
In both games (IIRC) the result was very close and those decisions could well have been the decider.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 178 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Jun 2009 | 16 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Aug 2015 | Aug 2015 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote DHM="DHM"Cummings thought it was a try and couldn't see anything wrong. Ganson saw an obstruction and the "real expert" Jon Wells, gave it a special name that they have in Australia ("tunnelling" or something like that - where you burrow through the legs of the player playing the ball - even though McShane actually went to the side of Peacock).
I wait to watch, knowing with 100% certainty, that an exactly similar try will be awarded in the next few weeks live on Sky (probably to Wigan) after the refs have gone away and re-interpreted the rules.'"
couldn't have put it better myself. Inevitable!
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Star | 1885 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Jun 2011 | 14 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Apr 2024 | Mar 2024 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| I've given up even trying to predict whether a try will be given or not when obstruction is involved
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
Player Coach | 8893 | Leeds Rhinos |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
May 2006 | 19 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Apr 2024 | Apr 2024 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
|
Quote El Barbudo="El Barbudo"Obstruction?
If that's the official reason, it's wrong.
Extract from the rules (here -> www.therfl.co.uk/the-rfl/rules/o ... /6_scoring), specifically says ...
"=#4000FFBoring through forwards - A player may pick up the ball at the base of the scrum and bore
through his own forwards to ground the ball for a try"
That, to me, is the same as "boring" through one forward at the PTB.
Frankly, I'm getting truly p'ed off by some of the decisions on obstruction this season, which appear to be based on their "interpretation" of the rules, when there is little or no interpretation required.'"
Last night was simply poor marker defence, McShane went to the side of Peacock and there was nobody on the line to tackle him. Previous controller of referees says try, current controller of referees says obstruction.
|
|
Quote El Barbudo="El Barbudo"Obstruction?
If that's the official reason, it's wrong.
Extract from the rules (here -> www.therfl.co.uk/the-rfl/rules/o ... /6_scoring), specifically says ...
"=#4000FFBoring through forwards - A player may pick up the ball at the base of the scrum and bore
through his own forwards to ground the ball for a try"
That, to me, is the same as "boring" through one forward at the PTB.
Frankly, I'm getting truly p'ed off by some of the decisions on obstruction this season, which appear to be based on their "interpretation" of the rules, when there is little or no interpretation required.'"
Last night was simply poor marker defence, McShane went to the side of Peacock and there was nobody on the line to tackle him. Previous controller of referees says try, current controller of referees says obstruction.
|
|
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Chairman | 14522 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Feb 2002 | 23 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jan 2014 | Jan 2014 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote DHM="DHM"Last night was simply poor marker defence, McShane went to the side of Peacock and there was nobody on the line to tackle him. Previous controller of referees says try, current controller of referees says obstruction.'"
Further to my post earlier, here's another specific about obstruction that the refs seem to ignore ...
[i" Player in possession- =#FF0000The player who is in possession of the ball cannot be guilty of obstruction. He can make use of the goal posts to avoid a tackle, or dodge behind a ruck of his own players or bore a way through his own pack."[/i
The key words here are that the player in possession CANNOT be guilty of obstruction.
Hence, for Ganson to be correct, Peacock would have to have obstructed ... and I don't see how, in playing the ball straightforwardly, he can have obstructed in this sense, any more than a goalpost could be guilty of obstruction.
Ganson wrong .... again.
|
|
|
Rank | Posts | Team |
International Star | 4239 | No Team Selected |
Joined | Service | Reputation |
Mar 2013 | 12 years | |
Online | Last Post | Last Page |
Jul 2024 | Jun 2024 | LINK |
Milestone Posts |
|
Milestone Years |
|
Location |
|
Signature |
TO BE FIXED |
|
| Quote El Barbudo="El Barbudo"Quite.
Wigan have been the beneficiaries of one try disallowed against them in one match and one try allowed for them in another match this season ... but where the "obstruction" was virtually identical.
In both games (IIRC) the result was very close and those decisions could well have been the decider.'"
Let them have top spot. 1st and second are pretty much identical the only difference is, if you both do what you should you don't have club call.
|
|
|
 |
|